FRAMINGHAM – The Learning Center for the Deaf (TLC) has been named Outstanding Organization of the Year by the Massachusetts Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing (MCDHH).

The award was given to The Learning Center for the Deaf team during Deaf and Hard of Hearing Constituents’ Day at the State House, an event hosted annually by the Statewide Advisory Council for Massachusetts Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

“TLC was nominated based on their achievements impacting the lives of their students and also community members,” commented MCDHH Commissioner Steven A. Florio in his letter of recognition. “The organization exemplifies the goal of an accessible environment with their campus guidelines, hiring bilingual staff, and outreach with the Center for Research and Training.”

Additionally, The Learning Center for the Deaf received an Official Citation from Senate President Karen E. Spilka, who attended the presentation of this citation with Center staff and students in the Senate President’s chamber.  

Also presented was a written recognition by The House of Representatives congratulating The Learning Center for the Deaf, signed by State Representative Carmine Gentile, State Representative Maria Robinson, Speaker of the House Robert A. DeLeo, and State Representative Jack Patrick Lewis.   Also honored at the event were the Islington Peninsula Neighbors, a group of 20 community members from Newton, Massachusetts.

They were awarded The Diane L. Nettles Outstanding Advocate Award, given for their dedication to learning American Sign Language to create an inclusive neighborhood for Samantha Savitz. Samantha, and her parents Glenda and Raphi, are members of the Badavas Parent Infant Program at The Learning Center for the Deaf.

“We are honored to receive this award, and we extend our congratulations to the neighbors of the Savitz family,” said TLC CEO Dr. Sarah Glenn-Smith. “Individuals create communities, and this day has reflected that in every way. We thank everyone—TLC families, students, employees, board members, community members, volunteers, supporters, and representatives—for making our work together possible.”