Hispanic Heritage Month is celebrated each year from Sept. 15 to Oct. 15. The start date of Sept. 15 was chosen because Sept. 15 is the anniversary of independence for the countries of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. This date range also includes the independence days of Mexico (Sept. 16) and Chile (Sept. 18) as well as Columbus Day (Oct. 12).